top of page

Friendly Substitutions

When vegan, you have to read labels. It is surprising how many items in your general supermarket are vegan.

For example, Betty Crocker's Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Simple Truth Organic Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake Mix both contain no ingredients of animal origin or environmentally harmful ingredients.

I am by no means arguing these items are healthy. I am only making the argument that they are vegan and environmentally friendly. 

The instructions ask for 2 eggs, 2/3 cup of water, and 2/3 cup of oil. 

We can make this vegan and a little healthier. I am also craving red velvet, but the box mix red velvet has palm oil. I could make it from scratch or I can alter some box mixes...

Aren't they cute? I used .y donut pan and mini bundt cake pans.

'Homemade' Vegan Gluten-Free Red Velvet Box Mix Cake

Ingredients:

2 cups of Simple Truth Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake Mix*

1/2 cup of Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix*

2 vegan eggs*

2/3 cup of apple sauce

2/3 cup of dairy-free milk* 

2 tablespoons of red food coloring

Vegan frosting or powdered sugar (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix dry ingredients. Make vegan egg in separate bowl. Add in wet ingredients in with egg. Combine wet and dry. Stir until batter is clump free and color is even.

Grease pan of choice. Pour batter. Cook for 22 minutes or until center is no longer gooey. 

Let cool. Decorate. Eat. Share?

Recipe Notes:

*can sub with other brands and does not have to be gluten-free 

*I used cashew milk

*I used flax eggs 


bottom of page